Skip to content

Wired article asserts early detection is crucial to winning against cancer

September 18, 2012

“Why Early Detection Is the Best Way to Beat Cancer” by Thomas Goetz

This brilliant piece advocates for finding simple screening methods so that eventually, every cancer can be caught at Stage 1 and before. This would mean most cancers would be easily cured.

Anal cancer patients are far too often diagnosed late because a simple screening had not been conducted annually in adulthood: the digital rectal exam. People don’t want this exam. They avoid it. I didn’t even know women were supposed to get the exam, and hadn’t had one until I found a tumor on my anus and went to the doctor to find out what it was. My doctor examined it with a gloved finger said it was not cancer. A month later I went back because the tumor was 5cm wide, and she didn’t even do an exam. She just gave me or itch cream. By the time I got a real diagnosis from a real doctor, a few weeks later, My rectum was blocked and my liver was full of metastatic tumors.

This was very very bad. It should not have happened to me and should not happen to anyone else.

Screening is key. Don’t be an idiot and reject a digital rectal exam because you or your doctor finds it distasteful. I am here to tell  you that is pure lunacy.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

